Bowen, Gail

Gail Bowen


Gail Bowen’s series features Joanne Kilbourn, a university professor, sometime political columnist, and a wife, mother and grandmother.  McClelland Stewart will publish The Nesting Dolls, the 12th book in the series in August 2010.  

The first six books in the Kilbourn series (Deadly Appearances (1990); Murder at the Mendel (1991); The Wandering Soul Murders (1992); A Colder Kind of Death (1994), winner of the Crime Writers of Canada Arthur Ellis Award; A Killing Spring (1996) and Verdict in Blood (1998) have appeared as made-for-television movies with world-wide distribution. Burying Ariel (2000); The Glass Coffin (2002); The Last Good Day (2004);  The Endless Knot (2006) and The Brutal Heart (2008) have met with critical and commercial success.  In June 2008, Reader’s Digest named Bowen ‘Canada’s Best Mystery Novelist’.

Bowen’s short story “The King of Charles Street West”, which appeared in Toronto Noir (2008) published by Akashic Books, New York, was singled out for special praise by Publishers’ Weekly.

Bowen has had four plays produced at Regina’s Globe Theatre – Dancing in Poppies (1993) which was presented in a special performance for Prince Edward, Beauty and the Beast (1993); The Tree (1994) and an adaptation of Peter Pan (1997). Manitoba Theatre for Young People chose Peter Pan as its 2000 Christmas production.  The Grand Theatre in London, Ontario presented Dancing in Poppies in 2002 and Peter Pan in 2003.

Bowen’s adaptation of Doctor Doolittle was broadcast on CBC’s Showcase in April 2006, and the University of Regina produced a theatrical version of the play simultaneously.  Saving Lonesome George, Bowen’s original play about the last of the Galapagos tortoises, was produced by Persephone Theatre in 2008 and will be produced by Carousel Players in March 2010.

Bowen’s radio play The Word According to Charlie D was broadcast on CBC’s Showcase in October 2006.  Her Long Time Listener/First Time Caller was CBC’s World Play for 2008 and was rebroadcast on CBC on May 18, 2009. She adapted the play, now titled Love You To Death, for Orca’s new series of Rapid Reads. Love You to Death will be published under the Raven imprint in spring 2010.  

Bowen was Writer in Residence for the Toronto Reference Library in May and June of 2009. She will be a mentor at the SFU Mystery Writers Retreat on Saltspring Island in June 2010. 

Bowen’s short story “The Foad Toad” will be published by University Affairs in 2010.  It will be the periodical’s first foray into fiction. 

Photo credit: Phyllis Thompson 

Selected Bibliography
The Joanne Kilbourne series:

Deadly Appearances
, 1990
Murder at the Mendel, 1991
The Wandering Soul Murders, 1992
A Colder Kind of Death. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1994
A Killing Spring. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1996
Verdict in Blood. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1998
Burying Ariel. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2000
Pale Criminal. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2002
The Last Good Day. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2004
The Endless Knot. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2006
The Brutal Heart. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, August 2008

The Nesting Dolls. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart,  August 2010

Winner, Crime Writers of Canada’s Arthur Ellis Award for Best Novel, 1995, for A Colder Kind of Death
Named Canada’s Best Mystery Novelist by Reader’s Digest, 2008




Books by Members