

Arthur Ellis Awards

www.crimewriterscanada.com arthur_ellis@crimewriterscanada.com

Announcing the Shortlists for the 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing

(Toronto, April 20, 2017) Crime Writers of Canada is pleased to announce the shortlists for the 2017 Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing.

Best Novel

Kelley Armstrong, **City of the Lost**, Penguin Random House of Canada Michael Helm, **After James**, McClelland & Stewart Maureen Jennings, **Dead Ground In Between**, McClelland & Stewart Janet Kellough, **Wishful Seeing**, Dundurn Press Donna Morrissey, **The Fortunate Brother**, Viking Canada

Best First Novel sponsored by Kobo

Ryan Aldred, **Rum Luck**, Five Star Publishing R.M.Greenaway, **Cold Girl**, Dundurn Press Mark Lisac, **Where the Bodies Lie**, NeWest Press Amy Stuart, **Still Mine**, Simon & Schuster Canada Elle Wild, **Strange Things Done**, Dundurn Press

Best Novella: The Lou Allin Memorial Award

Rick Blechta, **Rundown**, Orca Book Publishers
Brenda Chapman, **No Trace**, Grass Roots Press
Jas. R. Petrin, **The Devil You Know**, *Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine*, Dell Publishing
Linda L. Richards, **When Blood Lies**, Orca Book Publishers
Peter Robinson, **The Village That Lost Its Head**, *Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine*, Dell Publishing

Best Short Story

Cathy Ace, **Steve's Story**, *The Whole She-Bang 3*, Toronto Sisters in Crime Susan Daly, **A Death at the Parsonage**, *The Whole She-Bang 3*, Toronto Sisters in Crime Elizabeth Hosang, **Where There's a Will**, *The Whole She-Bang 3*, Toronto Sisters in Crime Scott Mackay, **The Ascent**, *Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine*, Dell Publishing David Morrell, **The Granite Kitchen**, *Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine*, Dell Publishing

Best Book in French

Marie-Eve Bourassa, **Red Light: Adieu, Mignonne**, Groupe Ville-Marie Littérature, vlb éditions Chrystine Brouillet, **Vrai ou faux**, Éditions Druide

Guillaume Morrissette, **Terreur domestique**, Guy Saint-Jean Éditeur Johanne Seymour, **Rinzen et l'homme perdu**, Libre Expression Richard Ste-Marie, **Le Blues des sacrifiés**, Éditions Alire

Best Juvenile/YA Book

Gordon Korman, **Masterminds: Criminal Destiny**, Harper Collins Publishers Ltd. Norah McClintock, **Trial by Fire**, Orca Book Publishers
John Moss, **The Girl in a Coma**, The Poisoned Pencil-Poisoned Pen Press
Caroline Pignat, **Shooter**, Tundra Books
Eva Wiseman, **Another Me**, Tundra Books

Best Nonfiction Book

Christie Blatchford, Life Sentence: Stories from Four Decades of Court Reporting — or, How I Fell Out of Love with the Canadian Justice System, Doubleday Canada

Joe Friesen, The Ballad of Danny Wolfe: Life of a Modern Outlaw, Signal McClelland & Stewart Jeremy Grimaldi, A Daughter's Deadly Deception: The Jennifer Pan Story, Dundurn Press Debra Komar, Black River Road: An Unthinkable Crime, an Unlikely Suspect, and the Question of Character, Goose Lane

Bobbi-Jean MacKinnon, Shadow of Doubt: The Trial of Dennis Oland, Goose Lane

bobbi-sean Mackinion, Shadow of Doubt. The That of Dennis Gland, Goose Lane

Unhanged Arthur for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel sponsored by Dundurn Press

Mary Fernando, **An Absence of Empathy**S.J. Jennings, **The Golkonda Project**Charlotte Morganti, **Concrete Becomes Her**Ann Shortell, **Celtic Knot**Mark Thomas, **The Last Dragon**

CWC announces the 2017 Derrick Murdoch Award recipient Christina Jennings.

The Derrick Murdoch Award is a special achievement award for contributions to the crime genre. This year's recipient is Christina Jennings, founder, Chairman and CEO of Shaftesbury Films. She has won a number of awards, including Genies, Geminis and Canadian Screen Awards, among several other nominations and accolades throughout her career.

Christina founded Shaftesbury Films in 1987 as a feature film company. She has produced movies and television series based upon the work of several Arthur Ellis Award-winning Canadian crime writers including the late novelist and playwright Timothy Findlay (*External Affairs*), novelists Gail Bowen (the Joanna Kilbourn TV movies) and Maureen Jennings (*Murdoch Mysteries*), as well as historian Marjorie Freeman Campbell (*Torso*).

About Crime Writers of Canada

Crime Writers of Canada was founded in 1982 as a professional organization designed to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers from coast to coast. Our members include authors, publishers, editors, booksellers, librarians, reviewers, and literary agents as well as many developing authors.

Past winners of the "Arthurs" have included such major names in Canadian crime writing as Howard Engel, Eric Wright, Peter Robinson, Gail Bowen, Louise Penny, Stevie Cameron, Barbara Fradkin, and Mario Bolduc. We would like to thank Dundurn Press for sponsoring the *Unhanged Arthur Award* and Kobo for sponsoring the *Best First Novel Award*

For more info about the Arthur Ellis Awards and the shortlists, or for contact information about the finalists, contact Arthur Ellis Awards Administrator Alison Bruce, at arthur_ellis@crimewriterscanada.com.