Danna ExitStratdgy

Jen J. Danna, Exit Strategy, Kensington Books

When a crisis explodes at New York City Hall, it’s up to the NYPD Hostage Negotiation Team to save the hostages lives.

Delany TeaandTreacheryVicki Delany, Tea and Treachery, Kensington

First in the new Tea by the Sea series from national bestselling author Vicki Delany.

Past Chairs and Presidents

Past Chairs of CWC (Title changed 2014)

2018-2020: Mike Martin (2 terms)

2016-2018: Cathy Ace (2 terms)

2014-2016: Vicki Delany (2 terms)

Past Presidents of CWC

2012-2014: RJ Harlick (2 terms)

2011-2012: Garry Ryan

2010-2011: Cathy Astolfo

2008-2010: Kay Stewart (2 terms)

2007-2008: Michael Blair

2005-2007: Rick Blechta (2 terms)

2004-2005: Barbara Fradkin

2003-2004: Maureen Jennings

2001-2003: Mary Jane Maffini (2 terms)

2000-2001: Nora Kelly

1999-2000: James Dubro

1998-1999: Peter Sellers

1996-1998: Peter Robinson (2 terms)

1995-1996: Laurence Gough

1994-1995: James Dubro

1993-1994: John Lawrence Reynolds

1992-1993: LR Wright

1990-1992: Alison Gordon (2 terms)

1989-1990: Medora Sale

1988-1989: Peter Sellers

1987-1988: Ted Wood

1986-1987: Howard Engel

1985-1986: William Gough and Anna Sandor

1984-1985: Eric Wright

1982-1984: Tony Aspler (2 terms)

Contribute with PayPal


Your contributions are important to the upkeep and continuation of Crime Writers of Canada.

Contribute now by clicking the button below:


Membership renewals can be made with PayPal via our online membership form.

Professional Author Members CLICK HERE

Associate Members CLICK HERE

Who We Are

We are the national professional association 
for mystery and crime writers in Canada.


Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) is a national non-profit organization for Canadian mystery and crime writers, associated professionals, and others with a serious interest in Canadian crime writing. Our mission is to promote Canadian crime writing and to raise the profile of Canadian crime writers with readers, reviewers, librarians, booksellers, and media.


Crime Writers of Canada is committed to fostering and promoting diversity, inclusivity, accessibility, and equity within its membership and the larger Canadian crime publishing community.

We define diversity to include people of different backgrounds, ages, abilities, body shapes, racialized identities, cultures, nationalities, gender identities and expressions, sexual orientations, beliefs, religions, socio-economic statuses, and more.

We firmly believe that our strength and success is built on promoting a wide range of voices and experiences within the scope of our mandate as a professional organization.

What is Crime Writing?

The field of Crime Writing is a broad category that includes crime, detective, espionage, mystery, suspense, and thriller writing, as well as fictional or factual accounts of criminal doings and crime-themed literary works. Cross-over tales such as romantic suspense and speculative thrillers are also considered part of the genre. In broader terms, it includes any work of fact or fiction that features crime or mystery as a central element.

Our history

Crime Writers of Canada was established as a professional organization in June 1982 by Derrick Murdoch, the Globe and Mail’s crime fiction reviewer at the time, and other writers interested in the quality of Canadian mystery and crime writing. The following year the Canadian National Arthur Ellis (AE) Awards for Excellence in Crime Writing were launched.  A special annual Derrick Murdoch Award, in the gift of the Board Chair, was created in honour of Derrick Murdoch’s inspired creation of CWC.

In 2005, a written constitution formalized the rules and principles of CWC, and in 2006 the organization was federally incorporated as a non-profit corporation by the Canadian Ministry of Industry.

As a non-profit organization, our activities are made possible by hard-working volunteers and committees. Our activities have two main goals: author promotion and professional development.

Board of Directors 2020- 2021 (June – June)

  • Brenda Chapman
  • Delvin Chatterson
  • Winona Kent
  • Peter Kingsmill
  • Lynn McPherson
  • Hyacinthe Miller
  • Judy Penz Sheluk
  • David A. Poulsen
  • John W. Simpson

Executive Officers:

Chair:   Judy Penz Sheluk

Vice Chair: Lynn McPherson

Treasurer: John Worsley Simpson

Click here for a full list of past Chairs/Presidents.

Regional Representatives:

BC/Yukon/NWT: Winona Kent

Prairies: Peter Kingsmill and David A. Poulsen

Toronto/SO: Lynn McPherson and Hyacinthe Miller

Ottawa/EO: Brenda Chapman

QC/Atlantic: Del Chatterson



Executive Director: Alison Bruce

Assistant Executive Director: Ludvica Boota

Awards Manager: Ludvica Boota

Webinar Coordinator: Raimey Gallant

Books by Members