penny-longwayhomeLouise Penny, The Long Way Home, St. Martin's Publishing

While Gamache doesn’t talk about his wounds and his balm, Clara tells him about hers. Peter, her artist husband, has failed to come home… 


weibe-lastoftheindependentsSam Wiebe, Last of the Independents, Dundurn

Winner of the 2012 Unhanged Arthur. 


abbott-wolfeVictoria Abbott, The Wolfe Widow, Berkley Prime Crime

Visiting villains, missing books and murder: not what you want for Thanksgiving. Jordan Bingham struggles to save her boss from a killer. 


smallman-martiniregretsPhyllis Smallman, Martini Regrets, Touchwood Editions

From alligators and snakes to the men called swamp rats, evil comes in many disguises and offers no second chances for Sherri. 

downie-bloodwilloutJill Downie, Blood Will Out, Dundurn

The apparent suicide of a hermit on the Channel Island of Guernsey triggers a murder investigation complicated by island witches, imaginary vampires...and family secrets. 

ace-corpsewplatinumhairCathy Ace, The Corpse with the Platinum Hair, TouchWood Editions

The bodies pile up, the tension mounts, the list of suspects dwindles... 

barclay-nosafehouseLinwood Barclay, No Safe House, Doubleday Canada

Terry and Cynthia Archer, from the novel No Time for Goodbye, are reconnected with the ruthless criminal they crossed paths with seven years ago. 


campbell-artfulgoddaughterMelodie Campbell, The Artful Goddaughter, Orca Books

Things are looking up for mob Goddaughter Gina Gallo in smoggy Steeltown. She stands to inherit two million bucks from great-uncle Uncle Seb, a master forger. But there’s a catch... 

crawford-beyondbloodSharon A. Crawford, Beyond Blood, Blue Denim Press

Dana Bowman has misgivings about starting the home-based Attic Investigative Agency with her fraternal twin... 

Latest Events

Fri Oct 03 @12:00PM - 01:30PM
Joan Hall Hovey
Sat Oct 04 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Joan Hall Hovey
Sat Oct 04 @01:00PM - 05:00PM
Paul Murphy
Sat Oct 04 @02:00PM - 04:30PM
Chris Laing
Sat Oct 04 @02:00PM - 04:30PM
M. H.Callway

News Highlights


2015 Arthur Ellis Entry Forms and Rules

Click HERE for the Submission Rules for Published Books and Stories

Click HERE for the Submission Rules for (Unhanged) First Unpublished Novels


[Note: As the Nonfiction category did not receive the minimum number of entries for 2014, books already submitted will be entered for the 2015 award.] 




Crime Writers of Canada's

October Authors Events

are here!


Click on the Events and News Button above and choose Author Events or click on the CWC LOGO on the left to take you right there. Alternatively, open this downloadable pdf, Current Author Events.  Also, check out the Latest Events (Home Page top right) to see whose doing what now.




Cool Canadian Crime

annual-badge ccc-q-badge arthurellisawards-badge

 You can also use the books button in the button banner above to go to our current issue or find previous issues. Go ahead try it!

Find the best Canadian mysteries and thrillers. Our monthly newletter will keep you up to date about Cool Canandian Crime, Author Events and more. Sign up for CRIME BEAT

CWC Sponsors

Media: Please contact Executive Director Melodie Campbell, at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it


Crime Writers of Canada offers sincere thanks to our sponsors and partners...



shrig_batt_logo carp



Books by Members

RSS Feed